Zermelo's theorem says that only one of three possibilities is possible in a 2-player solved game; First player (white) wins, second player (black) wins, or there is a forced draw.
In the game of chess, these outcomes correspond to:
If chess is solved before 2080, must perfect play result in white winning?
For the purpose of this question, chess is considered to be solved if
it is proved that white will win, lose or draw from the initial position, given perfect play on both sides
it is shown that there exists a unique result of perfect play from the initial position, which is either: white wins, black wins, or forced draw
Resolution is by publication of peer-reviewed article that is not shown to be mistaken for at least 3 years post-publication.
For the purpose of this question, the 50-move rule does not force a draw. Games that don't end, are considered drawn, for the purpose of this question
This question resolves ambiguously if the question does not resolve before Jan 1st, 2080.